

80 Davenport Square, Glenwood, Durban P 0 Box 59194, Umbilo, 4075 Tel: 031 201 6356 Fax: 086 516 0245 Email: vball@speechanddrama.co.za www.speechanddrama.co.za

THE PLATFORM

T he 2013 Monologue Competition and bursary recipients are two of the items included in this issue. There is also news about festival matters and, below, details of the Annual General Meeting of the Association.

We hope you find this first *Platform* for 2014 helpful as you begin planning for a new speech and drama year.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

DATE: MONDAY, 10 MARCH 2014

TIME: 16h00

VENUE: EDEN COLLEGE,

FRANCOIS ROAD, GLENMORE, DURBAN.

Diarise the date and join us for the meeting and refreshments afterwards.

Notice of Meeting and Agenda to follow.

SCHOOLS and STUDIOS:

Please return your membership forms by 28 February.

ADJUDICATORS:

Please return your panel forms by 15 February.

Volume 15 Issue 1

First Term 2014

Inside this issue:

2013 Bursary recipients	2
How bursaries are awarded	2
Festival News	3
Monologue Competition	4
2014 Fees	4

FOUNDER Professor Elizabeth Sneddon

HONORARY LIFE VICE-PRESIDENT Professor Pieter Scholtz

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Professor Mervyn McMurtry (Chairman)

> Eleanor Stewart (Vice-Chairman)

Roslyn Glen Rosanne Hurly-Coyne Helana Olivier Loshani Puymann David Spiteri Dean Unger Jean van Elden Charli Wiggill

FESTIVAL DIRECTOR Vyvienne Ball



2013 BURSARY RECIPIENTS

*	
Sibahle Sibiya	Northlands Girls' High School
Clarize Coetzer	Arboretum Primary School
Matthew Reinders	La Lucia J.P. School
🔆 Alok Rambehary	Bluff Christian Academy
Thando Dlamuka	Atholl Heights Primary School
Daksha Moodliar	Brighton Beach S.P. School
Avanda Makathini	D.P.H.S.
🗙 Devon Bibb	D.P.H.S.
Shraya Archary	Eden College
Sita Moodley	Hillary Primary School
Jocelyn Fellowes	Howick Prep. School
Luke Rennison	Howick Prep. School
Tyron Barnard	Manor Gardens Primary School
Keryn Scott	Westville J.P. School
Joshua Pienaar	Westville S.P. School
Drew Townley	Westville S.P. School
Jacob Blewitt	Westville S.P. School
Trent Lilford	Westville S.P. School
Emma Geyer	Winston Park Primary School
James Haw	Winston Park Primary School
Ross Blackbeard	Winston Park Primary School
★	
*****	*******

ELIZABETH SNEDDON BURSARY JILIAN HURST BURSARY HAZEL MEYER BURSARY HAZEL MEYER BURSARY

Thank you to all these schools for their support and generous donations to the Bursary Fund. *************



HOW BURSARIES ARE AWARDED

- Bursaries are optional as is the amount donated.
- Should a school wish to offer a bursary the amount donated should be paid on submission of your festival entries.
- After the festival the adjudicator puts forward nominations for the bursary to the school. The final decision on the bursary recipient rests with the school.
- The Speech and Drama Association reviews all other nominations that are submitted during the year and selects additional recipients for the Elizabeth Sneddon, Jilian Hurst and Hazel Meyer Bursaries.
- The bursaries are to be used for speech and drama tuition only.

For more information about bursaries please contact the Festival Director.

From the festival director...

Vestival 2014 is well underway.

Membership and booking forms were posted to schools and studios in January. If you haven't received this correspondence please contact me.

Entry forms are being posted as dates are booked. If you have booked a date for the first or second term, but have not received your entry forms, please follow up with me.

The 2014 - 2016 English and Afrikaans syllabi are now available. A copy of the English syllabus will be posted to you when your membership fee is paid. If you wish to order the Afrikaans Syllabus, or additional English books, don't forget to tick the relevant boxes on your membership form. The isiZulu Syllabus has not changed so please continue to use the 2011 - 2013 book. If you don't already have it, this can also be ordered.

Workshops: Now is the best time to have a workshop, especially if you have new staff members, who might appreciate some guidance in preparing for the festival. Workshops are arranged to suit each school's particular needs and are held at your school at a time and on a date chosen by the school. Contact the office for more information.

Fees: Despite increased costs we have kept the fees for individual items at the same as last year, i.e. R15 per item for all grades. Group items are now R60 for <u>all</u> grades. The usual concession of having <u>one</u> free entry if a pupil enters three different individual items, still applies. Turn to the back page for the full schedule of fees for 2014.

Payments: When you send through any proof of payment please include supporting documents so that I know what you have paid for.

NOW is the time to book workshops and festivals!

Finally, and especially if you are a new festival convenor, don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything you are not sure of. I will be happy to guide you through the process of organising your festival.

2013 BRUCE PIPER AWARD MONOLOGUE COMPETITION

The competition, an important event on our calendar and a highlight for the high school drama students who qualify to take part, was held on 2 November 2013.



Other participants were Caitlin Beaumont, Yolanda Ngidi and Kiara Sardha (Northlands GHS), Stacey Smith and Abigail Gambo (Grosvenor GHS), Nkosazane Dambusa (Kingsway High School), Gemma Adey, Elischke de Villiers and Georgina Borros (St Anne's College), and Robyn Ivey (Jo Caro Studio). Professor Mervyn McMurtry and Mr Charli Wiggill, who adjudicated the competition, said they were impressed with the high standard of all the performances.

The well-deserved winner was Sibahle Sibiya, from Northlands Girls' High School, pictured on the left with Mrs Elmarie Louw.



Charli Wiggill, Sibahle Sibiya and Mervyn McMurtry.

Congratulations to these top twelve candidates who were selected from over 140

high school pupils who presented monologues during the festival last year.

Conservative to Desett Desile a	2014 FEES	1
Congratulations to Brett Beiles, who was awarded Highly Commended	I Annual membership fee per school/studio	R 300
in the Writers' Circle's Humorous	All individual entry fees	R 15 per item
Poetry Competition, for his poem,	All group entry fees	R 60 per item
"The Magic Tree" .	Admin fees (see your Remittance Form)	Sliding scale
This poem can be found in our new	Workshop fees	R 400 per hour
syllabus along with many others written	English & Afrikaans syllabus	R 100 each
by local poets.	isiZulu syllabus	R 50 each
The Afrikaans syllabus also consists	Booklet on group categories	R 30 each
of an exciting and varied selection	Late entry fee penalty	R 250
of all new poems.	Travel/accommodation donation	R 600 per day
Enjoy them!	(where applicable) I I	(per adjudicator)